I´m John Pedersen, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hello Nature Photographers. My name is John Pedersen and I’m here for you to ask me anything (within reason of course). I am a professional photographer located in the beautiful state of Oregon in the wonderland of the Pacific Northwest. I’ve been a working photographer for the last 15 years and within the last 8 years, I finally left the corporate world to pursue photography as my sole source of income and more importantly, the motivation and inspiration for living a wonderful life. I lead photography workshops around the U.S. and abroad as well as actively teach photography and creative thinking in classes and seminars.

I’ve been fascinated with the power of photographs for most of my life, so it was natural to pick up a camera as a youngster. Early on I realized that I have always felt a yearning to express myself through my photography, to share my emotions, feelings, thoughts, and reactions to the beautiful world around us. Do I call myself a “landscape photographer” or “nature photographer”? No, I really don’t. Instead, I prefer to see myself as a communicator and my photography as a form of communication that is expressed through a visual medium. So, my methods of photography are similar to communicating in a short story, with a subject, supporting cast, plot, and storyline, with the visual elements in a composition analogous to those topics in a written story. I focus primarily on landscape and wildlife photography, however, I will photograph anything that moves me in ways that inspire me to capture and communicate what I’m seeing or how I’m reacting to my surroundings. Patterns, shapes, textures, colors, contrast…those are the building blocks I seek out to create some of my most resonant images.