I´m Gary Randall, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hi fellow NPN enthusiasts. It is an honor for me to participate in this AMA session.

I am Gary Randall. I am an Oregon landscape photographer and have been doing this full time for over 20 years now. I live in an Oregon forest with my wife Darlene and our kids Hazel, our red heeler dog, and Inky our little black cat.

I have been an avid outdoors person since I was a child. My family spent a lot of time hiking, camping, and exploring the outdoors and I have not let go of that love. The area where I live is beautiful. I am surrounded by forests and beautiful vistas. I live between Mount Hood and the majestic Columbia River Gorge. My home here in Oregon has inspired me and my landscape photography completely.

I am someone who started a career as a responsible young man and became disillusioned by the time I was in my mid 40’s. At the time I decided to leave my job as a mechanical engineer/CAD draftsperson to pursue a lifelong dream as a photographer. Back then I had little grasp of how much photography had changed since I started as a hobby in the 1970’s, especially as a career. At the time I was not aware of how much of a part the Internet would play in developing my career.

I started my career doing commercial work such as real estate, weddings, and portraiture because they paid well and was immediate income. I was creating landscape work for myself until print sales stepped up and I was starting to receive requests to teach and conduct workshops. It was then that landscape and nature photography took the front seat in what I was doing.