I´m Stan Rose, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hi, I’m Stan Rose, a nature and landscape photographer currently based in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and I’m excited to be here for AMA (Ask me anything)!

My journey as an artist started when I was growing up on Long Island, New York. I was an avid painter back then, mainly abstracts and surreal subjects with acrylic and mixed media. Despite my discomfort with the NY art scene, I thought about pursuing a career in fine art, but anxiety and self doubt led me to abandon my early dreams and I went on to pursue two other careers. First was a public defender/criminal defense attorney in NY in the 90s. Then after going back to school in 1999 and getting an MS in Atmospheric Science, I found work as a meteorologist/forecaster for NOAA in California and Colorado. It was while attending grad school in Seattle WA that I picked up a camera to document my many hikes in the Pacific Northwest, and my interest in art was reignited by my photography.

When I moved to Colorado in 2005, I found naturephotographers.net and when you have folks like Guy Tal and Marc Adamus freely giving you advice and suggestions, it’s hard not to improve! After critiquing several thousand photos, I became a moderator for the old site and was either loved or hated for my reputation as an honest but harsh critic. I’ve since mellowed in my approach to critique thanks to a decade of social media, but I credit those early days on NPN for honing my skills as an artist and photographer.