I´m Joshua Cripps, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hi everyone! Josh Cripps here. I’m a wilderness landscape photographer living in the beautiful city of Lone Pine, California. I live for hiking and backpacking, and my favorite place in the world to explore and photograph is the Sierra Nevada, in particular the Kings Canyon National Park backcountry.

In addition to the Sierra Nevada, I love exploring the desert landscapes of Death Valley, as well as the South Island of New Zealand. Two places that couldn’t be more different, but each has a special place in my heart.

One of my biggest passions in photography is photographing the moon, and many of you may have seen my photo of the annular solar eclipse and camel, which I photographed in a remote section of the UAE in 2019.

I recently opened my own fine art gallery here in Lone Pine, where I display large format prints of my work. It’s called The Mt. Whitney Gallery and I invite you all to stop by sometime.

Looking forward to spending the day with you. Would love to answer questions about hiking, backpacking, the wilderness, the moon, Death Valley, New Zealand, creativity, vision, printing and galleries, or whatever is on your mind. So go ahead, AMA!

AMA Rules:

• Please only ask one question by replying to this topic a single time, using the “Ask a question” button at the bottom. It’s also helpful to scroll to the bottom while reading the topic to make sure nobody else has asked the same question first before you ask.
  • Please don’t ask more than one question so everyone gets a chance.
  • Please do not reply to anyone else’s post. The only purpose of replies on this topic is to ask the author one question. Please create a new topic if you’d like to discuss a related topic in more detail.