into the snow (ICM)

we finally got a bit of snow last weekend and while on a little stroll around the house I played around with some camera movements.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Conceptual: Feedback on the message and story conveyed by the image.
  • Emotional: Feedback on the emotional impact and artistic value of the image.
  • Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

I am fairly new to ICM photography and very much like exploring different movements and options. This corner of a corn field covered in snow caught my eye and I tried zooming out during the exposure. I quite like the effect and would be very grateful for some pointers on how to improve this technique.

Technical Details

Sony A7IV with Tamron 28-75mm at zooming out from 75-66mm, 1/20 sec at f 22, ISO 50, handheld

1 Like

I donā€™t know that any of this will make for better images, but a few ideas that should be fun to play withā€¦

• Given you shot this one at 1/20sec, try lengthening the shutter speed to allow you to zoom in (or out) much slower as well. Or you could zoom faster with a longer shutter speed and wind up zooming in/out in the same exposure. That could produce some very different results.
    * A noteā€¦as a VERY GENERAL rule of thumbā€¦Iā€™ve not often had much luck shooting faster than 1/20 for ICM. For me, that is generally as fast as I wish to go. ā€˜Your mileage may certainly vary.ā€™

• You could also try combining other movement types with the zoom out/in. E.g., move the camera back & forth, up & down, or twist as youā€™re doing the zoom. It can get tricky, but itā€™s all worth exploring.