Light on the Seven Sisters

Happy New Year everyone!

One of my new year’s resolutions is to slow down with my photography and let images sit a while longer before editing them. I’ve been doing this for a couple of months now and i’m seeing much better results in my editing. I took this on a very stormy afternoon in the South Downs National Park in United Kingdom, my all time favourite place to go.

I think that i’ve got the image pretty much to how i want it to look, but i’m still a tad bit unsure about it and can’t quite see what it is. I’d love some feedback please. Pick it apart, tell it to me straight, what works for you and what doesn’t.

Thanks in advance!

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Any

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Colour Palette mainly

Any pertinent technical details:

Sony A7Rii
1/200
ISO 250
F8

Focal Length unkown as using Commlite adapter, aprox. 80mm.

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Miguel, I really like this sharp composition, it is clean and simple. The main issue I have is the lack of detail in stormy sky (not sure anything can be done with it) It may also be the sky color contributes to the heavy feeling of the upper part of the image. However, the longer I look at the image I am not sure I would change anything. This storm competes with such a strong subject (the cliffs) that it tells an interesting story about nature. Well done!

1 Like

This has an almost “ethereal” feel to it. I’m not bothered by the sky, and in fact I think it works well with the beach in the foreground. We get lots of featureless early morning (and late evening) skies like that, and in my mind they serve to nicely frame the brightly lit cliffs.

1 Like

Happy New Year, Miguel!