Medicine Lake

What technical feedback would you like if any? I’m an enthusiastic novice, anxious for any and all tips. The more detailed the better (I speak Lightroom, a little Photoshop).

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Bring it on!

Any pertinent technical details: Sony a6500, 16-70mm lense at 59mm. ISO 100, 1.3 sec at f/22. Soft graduated ND filter at capture.

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

This seems like a pleasant scene. Nice mountain in the background with a river and rocks. My biggest issue is light. The large rocks in the foreground gather a lot of attention because they are bright and because of their position. As captured, the lighting is pretty flat. I know we can’t always find the great spots with great light, but the reality is, without nice light, the image will suffer.

Technically: Why f/22? If you were to look at the details of this image compared to an image captured at say f/13, you’d find this is softer because you’re well into diffraction limitation of the lens. If you’re going after maximum depth use the hyperlocal distance for the lens at a more reasonable aperture for maximum depth and quality.

2 Likes

This looks like an amazing area! I definitely agree with Keith here, the foreground rock takes up too much attention due to its size, placement, and light.

In the field, I like to have an internal dialog of sorts, discussing each element in the scene. First, I pick what is most interesting to me; the whole point of the image. From what I can see in your photo, it would be probably be the huge awesome mountain. Next, I take a look at each other element and think about how it adds to or detracts from the most interesting thing:

• “The sky - it’s dramatic but there isn’t a lot of interesting light or details, so I’ll make sure not too much of it is in the image”