My Old Friend

full frame view

I’ve been photographing this tree, this scene for more than 30 years… I’ve probably posted this at least 2 or 3 other times here on NPN over the years, including a quad panel of this scene in all 4 seasons. Call me a creature of habit, but just can’t help but photograph this, or at least stop here every time I pass by.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Conceptual: Feedback on the message and story conveyed by the image.
  • Emotional: Feedback on the emotional impact and artistic value of the image.
  • Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

As always, your comments, critique and suggestions are most welcome. I’m including the full frame view which may or may not appeal. I like the full view, but the bottom has always been messy - the tree stump littered with woodpecker holes, next to that a cage protecting a young oak for restoration, the debri and then the yellow bush all adding up to a messy bottom. But then again, that is what the meadows are like.

I reached my limit of time processing this image - you know that point where no matter what you do you’re not improving things and actually making them worse. So I’ll stop, post and look for your valued feedback

Technical Details

Nikon D800E, 28-300mm @52mm f/16 1/5s iso 200

Hi Lon,
The tree is really beautiful and I can understand why you can’t stop to photograph it. I always find it very interesting to look at the same scene in different seasons.

I like both versions in their own way. The color contrast is great which makes the tree stand out very well from the background.