Need Advice for possible switch from Sony to Canon

For some time now I’ve been considering switching from Sony to Canon. The R5 has really impressed me and seeing it used in the field by some of my workshop clients has really started to convince me now is the time to switch. Versus my Sony mirrorless systems it has a better/tougher build, better lens mount, better ergonomics, fully articulating screen!, better color, a live color histogram, and a number of other positives. The biggest downsides to me are worse battery life, slightly bigger, and slightly heavier. I’m not a pixel peeper so the whole package is more important to me than just the sensor.

I’ve been shooting Sony for 11 years, currently an a7R III, Nikon 4 years before that, and a manual Pentax 35mm before that. Any advice from someone that has made a similar switch or is currently using the R5 would be appreciated. Thanks!

I have been a Canon landscape shooter for over 30 years now, and was mightily tempted to switch to Sony for quite awhile when Sony was winning the dynamic range wars. I resisted the urge, and it’s nice to see the wheel turning the other way for a change :grin:

Jason, if you have been impressed by the R5, wait until you get more intimately acquainted with the Canon lens ecosystem, it’s more important than the bodies as far as I am concerned. I still am on the 5D MK4, and can’t help you with the R5, but everything I have seen says that the Canon R lenses are even more outstanding than the already excellent EF lenses.

I am currently an avian photographer and I switched from Nikon to Sony. I have a Sony alpha-1 which is as close to the Canon R5 as one can get. I started shooting Nikon in the late 60s and have acquired way too much Nikon gear including some excellent glass. But as I have gotten older, weight has become an issue in the Nikon gear is just considerably heavier than Sony. So I am trying to sell a lot of my Nikon stuff and it is in the classified here on NPN.