Ode to Chuck Kimmerle

Mr Kimmerle’s galleries contain an assortment of images that has fascinated me for quite some time. What interest me the most is why he took them. They contain a combination of subjects that seem to be at odds with one another and lack almost any human interest. They are so different that I couldn’t figure out how he decided that one thing was worth shooting over another. After following his work on Facebook I think I understand some of it. Here, in my opinion, is an image that Chuck would be attracted to. But, of course, I didn’t shoot it for Chuck’s sake. I found it interesting as well. What do you think?

GFX50R, 35-70 mm

Igor,

Full disclosure, I had not seen any of Mr. Kimmerle’s work, but I did visit his website before offering my comments. Also, I very rarely include any “hand of man” in my images, so please keep that in mind when viewing my comments.
At first I thought this was all about the deteriorating one room house, but as I studied it more I am drawn more to the photogenic tree and it’s protective presence. It speaks to me about nature’s inevitable perseverance when we are gone. Also the little brick structure next to the house is an interesting contrast and makes me questions it’s purpose?
I have to agree that Chuck would have appreciated this scene.

Thank you Alan for commenting on this image. I’m actually not entirely clear about the ‘hand of man’ rules on NPN 2.0. NPN 1.0 had a category for hand of man and therefore the landscape forum did not allow any of it. now it allows it but the moderators may be predisposed against it. I see it now on this forum to various degrees. My suspicion is that cityscapes or indoor scenes are naturally out but when it exists within nature it is acceptable. I found this quote on Chuck’s website:

Blockquote