Old Dogs, New Tricks + Repost

I am an unrepentant single capture guy but I know I need to get with the times and do some focus stacking. This is my first attempt and I just used Lightroom and Photoshop. If things look hopeful I may graduate to Helicon or Zerene but for now I’m looking for criticism on the overall results. I also selected the messy BG and didn’t quite darken it completely but it is less distracting now. I have very thick skin so don’t hold back.

Type of Critique Requested

• Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

Anything on the final result.

Technical Details

Sony A7RIII
Minolta 200mm macro
4 shot stack, ISO 400, 1/60 @ f11

Good for you, Bill! Look out though, it’s addicting!

I really like the subject you chose. What a spectacular blossom. Such rich colors and it seems to be at the height of its perfection. Really interesting textures, too, especially how the middle contrasts with the petals. The middle really is the star and I think the focus there looks very good in the small and medium sizes. Blown up very big I can see there might be a strip that got missed in the focus stepping - it’s in the midst of some crisp areas so that’s what makes me think that. It’s hard to tell though. Did you use in-camera bracketing or did you choose focus points manually?

What is more obvious is the treatment of the petals. I see some mask bleed through here and there and some inconsistency in what is in focus and what is not. The leading petals in the front are well OOF and a bit of a distraction as a result. I often have parts of my stacks very soft, but none at the front of my subject. The area in the foreground of the subject can be soft without being distracting, but for me when the leading edge is blurry it looks like a goof, not something intentional, which if it was, I apologize.