On the final beach

What makes this image expressive?

I am not very good at dealing with the emotional state in my pictures, but instead I develop stories in them. The picture was taken in the middle of winter in NorthCape in Northern Norway in really rough weather. The idea for the picture came at the time of shooting and depicts the last beach from which there is no return. I shot dozens of pictures of which only a few managed to get the light, clouds and especially that splash of water even in some way
This is one of my favorite pictures for capturing its powerful story and ok shooting situation
This is also an old shot and very noisy, but this was in an exhibition a few years ago
I have also tried to make a black and white version of this, but I have not been very satisfied with them

Specific Feedback Requested

All

1 Like

Hi Jorma, Nice to see this image and my Norwegian wife would love it too! :slight_smile: You’re neighbours!

You have braved some really wild conditions here to make an image that has deep emotional and cultural relevance for you. I know many people who struggle to express emotions through words, but that does not mean they are incapable of feeling emotion. When you learn to express passion nd emotions through your images, you get the same benefits of being emotionally open, without the risk of appearing vulnerable or weak.

I am very emotionally open, and that is ok for me, because I teach emotional literacy through creativity. I wouldn’t do a very good job if I could not do what I teach.

Again, we can fall back on the impact and consequence of the elements in the frame. Many people will see only ocean, mountains, snowfall and clouds. I see mood, feeling, energy and the odd distraction.