Perhaps you'll join us for breakfast.

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Shortly after dawn on an early June day in South Luangwa, deep in the brush, a pride of several females with their coalition of two males killed a lone Cape buffalo. The lions were still in a state of heightened adrenaline, still edgy, and still verged on attack. As they crowded onto their prey and started eating breakfast, the larger male paused to give me a considered stare – and this was the moment. We see him sandwiched between the flank of one lioness and the other male, who wears a GPS collar for tracking and protection by Zambian anti-poaching rangers.

Specific Feedback

OK folks, this is another one from my Wayback files. I’ve been working and reworking this image for several years, and I would really appreciate it if you’d put this one through the wringer for me. Tell me anything and everything you think I should do to improve the image before I finally print it on Hahnemühle 308, 13"x19". Be as broad or as nitpicky as you wish. Give me your honest assessments and any technical advice you may have, and in any depth you care to offer. Because I’ve been working this cat for so long that I need outside interference, or else my therapist/wife says I’ve gotta be done with him! His eyes still haunt me!

Technical Details

Canon 5D Mk III, EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS USM (Mk I) @ 340mm, 1/250s, f/6.3, ISO 640. This JPEG is from the RAW file, worked in LR. Heavily cropped. Other processing (on a copy, not this JPEG) includes DXO Deep Prime for noise reduction and Topaz Gigapixel @ 4x enlargement.

1 Like