Photography on paternity leave

Hi everyone!
My name is Mario, I am an amateur landscape photographer and professional cellist.
Since beginning of this year I am also on paternity leave :slight_smile:
In contrast to my expectations, being on paternity leave wasn’t actually detrimental to my hobby, since I had to walk every day while my daughter was sleeping in her stroller :slight_smile:
It also made me appreciate the overcast light we so often have here in Germany.

Here are two pictures from the beginning of the year, where I found interest in the texture of leaveless wintery trees.

Any feedback, artistic and/or technical is welcome!

No Trespassing

Fire Within

What technical feedback would you like if any?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
2 Likes

Welcome aboard, Mario and quite nice on the first post. Of the two, I am really liking the first one. Wildly controlled chaos and it works for me beautifully. Your framing brings my attention nicely to center and the tree trunks provide great cohesion to the image. I find it a most enjoyable image.

Welcome to NPN Mario, this is a great first post. Someday perhaps you can even share these images with your daughter and tell her when you took them.

I think both images have compositions that are have done a good job of “organizing the chaos” so common in woodland locations. In the first image I like how you organized the dark trunks to create contrast against the lighter tones of the branches and ground cover. This composition is nicely balanced.