Ruby-throat

The Ruby-throated hummingbirds have returned to west Tennessee. Took this one in my yard last evening. Five flash set up (1/16 power). Background is a photo print. Sugar water applied to flower.

Canon 90D, Sigma 150-600 C, five speedlites, tripod
ISO 320, f20, 1/250s

Any comments appreciated.

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

@allensparks.wildlife

1 Like

Looks technically perfect for a flash set up. I’ve only fully around with 5 flash set up a few times so I’m not an expert at critique. The colors look good on the bird from the standpoint of saturation and exposure. Saturation of the flowers is probably accurate but it really pulls the eye toward the flower because of its brightness. I’m not sure you can do anything about that; Keith and Nate are the experts. From the standpoint of composition I think I would take a little off the top tells the center the image a bit. Still I would be happy with this if it were mine.

I’d say this turned out really well and I’d be thrilled to get a shot like this. No nits from me. Excellent detail, nice composition, nice flower.

1 Like

Hi Allen
Hummingbirds are very hard to photograph, nice work.
Peter

Allen: Technically well exposed, sharp, all those good things. For me the image is lacking in two areas. The background is very monochromatic and I much prefer backgrounds that have tones and textures to them. Yes still prints, but much more character.