Salamander embryos

I thought I’d post something a little different (for me anyway). Last March my wife and I attended a salamander workshop at the local Audubon center. The Audubon leader took us to a vernal pool, found a mass of salamander eggs, and placed them in a white plastic container by the pool. That is where I photographed these salamander embryo images. The egg mass was returned unharmed to the pool.

Not the most artistic image for sure but I find it pretty interesting. I’m wondering if others might have advice on improving the capture here as I have no experience photographing wet macro subjects. We are scheduled to attend another workshop at the Audubon center later this month.

Canon 7D, Sigma 150mm f2.8 macro, 1.4x TC
ISO 400, f6.3, 1/250s, hand held

I took out some bright sky reflections.
Any comments appreciated.

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

Very cool, Allen. I particularly like the two main subjects. Two things I’d suggest trying are using a circular polarizer and, if they’ll let you, taking a dark umbrella to shade the dish and try to eliminate sky reflections. I think @Jim_Zablotny might have some good ideas.

Hi,