Scott Falls, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

My first post here, so I hope I’m doing this correctly. I’ve posted the original 3 image hdr along with the final cropped processed photo . The original image was too much info and too busy but I saw a photo in it which is the crop version. Thoughts and critiques are welcome.

What technical feedback would you like if any? Any

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Thoughts on composition, colors and/or how I cropped the image

Pertinent technical details or techniques: 3 image hdr processed in photoshop and cropped. Fujifilm XT3, 16-55mm lens, @ 30mm 1/3 sec, f11, ISO, 160,

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below. @RobertaKayne
2 Likes

Wow, beautiful scene for sure! I’m not an expert, but I wonder if you cropped out too much from the scene? I think the portrait orientation is good, but maybe include the pool and a bit of the trees above the falls? By using my hands as makeshift frame, I really like it. But that’s up to you. Everyone sees things differently.

Welcome to the NPN group! I’m familiar with the area. I grew up in WI and had a cabin up in the northwoods. Your photo takes me back there. Thanks!

1 Like

That’s a beautiful water fall, I like the vertical crop you did but I also feel that it crops out a bit too much. I agree with Barbara, I would like to see a bit more of the trees above the falls along with the pool.

1 Like

This is a gorgeous scene. I really liked your crop when I saw it, and I agree it is a nice shot by itself. But after seeing the whole scene I would offer the following advice.