Sierra Aspens

What technical feedback would you like if any? Any

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Any

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

I got this shot on a leaf peeping trip to the eastern Sierra. We saw LOTS of Aspens that trip! D500, Nikon 35mm lens, hand held, 1/100th, f/11, ISO 100, cropped to 1680 x 791, AI Clear

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

I should love to give some comment, Dave. but as a true amateur I can say that I like those colors, the contrast and the bit haziness on the mountains. It’s a very well made landscape for my eyes.

Dave,

A grand view of autumn aspens in the Eastern Sierra. I think this is just about the only vantage point with this type of sweeping view (unlike those found in CO and UT!)

I like the back lighting in the aspens and the mix of greens and yellows. Just about peak time!

I would agree with Ben on the haziness. Time of day and conditions aren’t helping here - and if this was last fall, or even the fall before that, the air in California was downright terrible these pas couple of years due to all the fires - so not much you could do here. I think even the angle here that a polarizer may or may not have helped.

I like the comp and framing. Just wondering if you could dehaze the mountains a bit, bring in some contrast, etc. NOt exactly sure what to suggest.

Nicely captured. Thanks for sharing.

Lon

This is a nice pano from a location I know well. I think you did a commendable job given the conditions.

The haze is a little strong. If you can, select only the background mountains, reduce the blue/cyan and then add a little contrast there.

Thick haze and wildfire smoke has been a bane for the past two years. Hopefully, this year will be better.
-P

PB