Siuslaw Dunes

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Always interested in any thoughts regarding B&W processing.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

What does the image make you feel? Note a hint of trees in distant back ground to provide scale. Did some brackets w/o trees as well. Which would you do, w/ or w/o trees?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)
Nikon 810 w f/4 70-200 (+1.4 teleconverter) @ 116mm, f/14, 1/250 sec, iso 40. Subject is deliberately underexposed by at least one stop to hold highlights.

Hi Mark,

To answer the questions you posed. Here goes:

I’m not an expert on B&W by any stretch of the imagination but I would say in general this has been pretty well handled. I think the highlights on the left could be brought back a bit to reveal a bit more detail. Especially in the features on that dune.

Without trying to sound too blunt, the image makes me feel a bit unbalanced. A lot of the emphasis of the shot in on the left, which is quite beuatiful. The leading line then takes you off to the right, where the distant dune is. The combination of the above makes me feel a bit like I dont know where I should look. I think the concept is great, but I would have had the leading line taking you to a dune just off center. This would have helped you achieve a better balance and made folk feel like they were more immersed in the scene.

100% no trees. At the distance they are from the lens it’s hard to tell how tall they are/what they are and don’t really give an idea of scale. They are also quite dark so drag the eye to them and away from the dunes. I think you should keep the dunes as the focus of the image as they are certainly striking!!

Hope that helps and shoot me any questions if you have

Eugene