Winter Oak

This is an image from Alby Nature Reservation in Tyresö, a southeast suburb of Stockholm. I do enjoy making photos of trees and I especially like the graphical effects with snow on the branches.

I have done some dodging and burning to make the background more diffuse.
This is my first time here so I hope to get critiques on the image itself (too cluttered?) and the pp.

Nikon Z6, 24-70/f4 on 70 mm, ISO 800, f5,6 and 1/1000 sek.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

lazzeluz on ig

2 Likes

Lars,
This is a wonderful find and beautiful winter image! The contrast and choice of texture you used in processing is spot on for me. I also like the centering of the tree and overall choice of composition. Really a superb image IMO! One nit, it it were mine I would desaturate the two bare limbs, one in the center of the main trunk and one on the left side of the frame…then I would hang it in on the wall.
Well done!

1 Like

Lars,
This tree is a wonderful candidate for a B&W! I do not find the scene to cluttered and the processing kooks great IMO. I do like the graphic quality of the snow against the darker tones of the tree limbs. I do have two small suggestions; the first being a small crop off the right side to get rid of the dead snag on the lower right edge. The second is to clone out whatever that flesh toned area is about half way up the trunk of the tree as it catches my eye a bit. I think those small couple of tweaks would elevate this lovely image another notch. BTW, I love the character of the tree.

1 Like