A Hummingbird Humming!

Took this today on my drive back from a quick photo nature walk. It’s 50 degrees and this is my first year living in the Willamette Valley. Never experienced a climate like this and I’ve been seeing these hummingbirds around in the Winter!? I think from my guide it’s an Anna’s Hummingbird. They are the only ones that should be here all year round. He definitely has his territory because I always see his cute little silhouette sitting on a tree in this same area on the side of the road as I drive by. So, I had to find a place to pull off so I could get out and get a picture. He was making a chirping, humming noise.

Specific Feedback Requested

Anything, I think it’s probably not the best photo I have but I like the pose and it shows the red and in a lot of my photos it’s hidden.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
Nikon D3400
ISO 3200
300mm
f/6.3
1/1250
Adjusted exposure, highlights and shadows, and cropped

naturenessie

Definitely an Anna’s, Vanessa. I hadn’t realized you’d become a Northwesterner. You’ll like it out here. I think this image is a bit overexposed and you could probably crop it down quite a bit. It’s a great pose. I’m seeing some color fringing on both the bird and the stems on the right, something that happens a fair amount when photographing against a bright sky. Check you software to see if there’s an option for lens correction and/or chromatic aberration correction in the RAW converter-they can perform magic these days.

1 Like

Good to know the type! There was one right where I live eating bugs out of a dead tree about a month ago! Yeah, I should have brought the ISO down a notch. Do you mean like right in my camera there’s a lens correction adjustment?

Nope. Not in your camera unfortunately. But hopefully in your processing software.

If you have them in your neighborhood a hummingbird feeder in can be kept up all winter and you’ll have a chance to get some really good images.

1 Like