A Lost Lake

This past weekend I backpacked 31 miles mostly with the intent to get to this mountain basin that I’ve been eyeballing for 20+ years. I’ve never heard of another person going there. To make it more fun, I decided to climb to the 13,000 ft. peak above the lake for this perspective of the lake and another high 13,000+ ft. peak next to it. The light up there was pretty amazing, but quite fleeting thanks to the pervasive cloud cover; however, I was able to bring out some of the ambient glow on the peak and rocks well after sunset which was quite nice.

Specific Feedback Requested

I feel too attached to this image because of the effort that went into capturing it; however, I’d love to know what you think works and what could be improved.

Technical Details

ISO 100, f/14, 15s, 14mm

5 Likes

Hey Matt,

I can totally understand why you are emotionally invested in this! Oof, that’s a lot of hiking and elevation!

Viewing it large, the first I noticed was that the colors are muted and tonal, which is nice. They are not in your face bold or high contrast. The second thing I noticed was the rock point on the lower left, the brightness of it caught my eye more than perhaps I’d want in the image. It’s brighter than much of the rest of the scene and grabs attention. Perhaps darken it a bit and let the viewer slide in to the whole scene and bask in its beauty!

Well done!

1 Like

Thanks John that helps a lot!

Matt, wow what a view and awesome image! That is a long hike for sure but looks like it paid off. I agree with John on the small rock catching my eye in the lower left. From a tonality standpoint, I’d like to suggest bringing up the exposure a bit on the main peak stretching from the lovely lake . Perhaps burn the right side on the right edge of the mountain peak. This would help the peak stand out more and add some contrast. I really like the overlapping layers in the foreground. Nice depth to the image.

1 Like