Abstract ICM Landscapes

I’m fairly new to NPN, and this is my first post for critique. I’ve been primarily focused on ICM (intentional camera movement) landscape work for about the past two years. I’ve taken tens of thousands of ICM frames and spent countless hours immersed in the landscape to do this work.

When I first got back into landscape photography about three years ago, after only having done it in spurts for many years, I became enthralled with photographing the landscapes of Ireland. I traveled to Ireland, from Iowa, more than a half dozen times just to photograph the amazing landscapes, and each time I would return to Iowa and feel less than inspired to even get my camera out of the bag.

Somewhere along the way, I was introduced to ICM, and I thought maybe that technique would help me find the inspiration and drive to get out to shoot where I am…rather than wait until I could take another trip to some more majestic landscape.

I began just getting out for walks along nature trails with my dog, carrying my camera and experimenting with different movements, speeds, and camera settings. That ended up leading me down a path I never really expected, and here I am two years later doing ICM work almost exclusively. It has become my passion, as I’ve learned to see the essence of nature in a totally different way.

I also learned that getting out to do the work was more important than waiting for inspiration to hit, and in getting out to do the work day in and day out, I’ve been inspired to hone my craft into a unique personal expression of what I see and feel in nature.

My hope is that this kind of blurred landscape work can/will find a place among some of the best crisp, literal landscape works, as a way to inspire and encourage people (viewers and other photographers alike) to see and think about the natural world in new and different ways.