Adult Cooper's in my backyard

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Unfortunately, the bird is still backlight and the background is fairly bright. I think it is better than the other Juvenile Cooper’s from before. Hopefully. he/she will come through later in the afternoon when the light will be better. I love birding from a chair in my back patio. Keeping my social distancing.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If backgrounds have been removed, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)Canon 7Dll, Sigma 150-600, 244mm, ISO 2500, 1/4000sec,[Set for Hummingbirds],F/6.3.
LR CC, PS, Topaz Denoise AI.
All comments appreciated

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

Great photo of the Cooper Charlie. I do agree that the background is a bit bright, however, I am not experienced enough to comment on the best way to remedy that beyond selecting the background and apply various blurring, dodging and selective color techniques. I still am amazed at the detail you have captured in the bird. Really wonderful.

Thanks. I am struggling with that.

This worked out rather well, Charlie. The background doesn’t look at all objectionable to me. I like the pose and the tree works nicely as a perch. If you’re shooting into the light, and you have an external flash (though the built-in one will work to some extent) turn it on and set it at -2 EV exposure compensation as a start. You might have to move up to -1 or even higher, but that will put more light on the bird and perch without appreciably increasing the light on the background. I haven’t really played with it for backlight situations, but I know it works from what I’ve seen others do.

Good idea. Was looking for Hummers and they were down low when the hawk came in and perched. I will try with the flash. Thanks.