Baily's Beads and Diamond Rings

Captured just after the first Diamond Ring, below.

Diamond Ring at second contact (seconds before totality)

Diamond Ring at third contact (seconds after totality)

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

With tracking, I was able to shoot sequences of aligned images. I used an intervalometer to shoot the partial phases every 5 minutes with the solar filter. About 15 seconds before totality I stopped the intervalometer, went from 1/500 sec to 1/2000 sec SS and Ted removed the solar filter. The camera was set to 3 fps burst rate and I held down the release button on the intervalometer (which acts as a normal shutter release instead of as a timer) until the moon completely covered the sun. Then I started shooting an exposure bracket for the corona, changing SS on the laptop with LR tethered capture, going up to 2 sec and then back down.

At the end of totality I was back to 1/2000 sec and used the button on the intervalometer to shoot another burst. About 10 seconds after the sun peeked out, the filter went back on and I went back to 1/500 sec and hit Start on the intervalometer again for exposures every 5 minutes on the last partial phases.

Specific Feedback

All comments welcome!

Technical Details

Canon R5, RF 100-500 lens at 500mm. ISO 100, f/6.7. These are exported from LR as the unadjusted raw files, cropped to 9% (yes!) of the full frame. The corona extends well out and I needed 500mm to cover what I could capture of it. The corona image posted previously was cropped to a square – 72% of the full frame.

3 Likes

Very cool images, Diane. Planning does pay off and it’s nice to have an assistant. You’d think by now one of the tethering programs would let you program that whole sequence except for the filter removal and replacement. Of course, that would remove some of the adrenaline rush.