The Three Little Rings

Central Ring

Diamond Ring 2

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

This was THE most intense thing that I have ever tried to photograph. I am fairly new to Astro and sky photography, but it is very exciting to try. I planned for weeks figuring out how to photograph the eclipse and how to deal with all of the camera settings. Most of the research was online, e-books and videos. I’m not going to lie, I was in absolute panic mode while shooting the Totality portion of the eclipse, but enjoyed all of the research part of it and figuring out the how of it all. I photographed the eclipse in Carbondale, IL. I am always excited and willing to try new camera techniques and learn as much as I can. This experience was by far the most challenging yet and I learned alot about many of the camera’s odd menu selections. I look forward to many more camera adventures.

Specific Feedback

No particular feedback, just wanted to share the images. This was the first time posting.

Technical Details

Ring 1: ISO 800, 560mm (100-400 w/ 1.4 tele), f 22, 1/500 sec. This was part of exp. bracketing sequence.

Central Ring: ISO 4000, 560mm, f8, 1/125 sec.

Ring 2: ISO 6400, 560mm, f8, 1/5000 sec.

All were photographed using a Nikon Z7ii and I borrowed a star tracker to try it out so as to avoid any tripod adjusting issues that may occur. Definitely a learning curve involved. None of the photos were edited, they were straight out of the camera.