Frozen

This image was taken during a very cold snap in NS, Canada. I have tried to show that extreme cold to the viewer. .

Specific Feedback Requested

Color ranging from too blue to too near b&w - neither work well. Suggestions for processing needed

Technical Details

Processed in PS.

1 Like

Oh my, this does say cold! I’m always impressed by you photographers who get out into the extremes.

I love the way the jagged rocks match the jagged broken ice - makes for an interesting texture. The blues look fine to me, but I have no experience with shooting snow scenes, so I can’t offer advice.

Mission accomplished! I love it. It’s 80 degrees today and for here, that’s hot. I know, I know…it’s not, but I like it better when it’s 60. Or snowing. But that interferes with my kayaking. Can’t win. But this shot is a winner. I like the broken ice, the frosted trees and the muted colors. Looks like some of the whites may be blown, or close and I kind of wish you got low and close to the nearest ice, but overall super.

Oh and nice to see you pop in. I know life got busy, but I notice when you come back.

Patricia,

I’m in lock step with Kris and Bonnie - This absolutely makes me feel cold! In fact I first saw this before any comments and my very first reactin was “shivers.” Weird how that sense of cold can come out of a static image on a computer… But certainly the contrast, the sharpness of the ice and rocks as Bonnie eludes, but also the crisp, clear air - which is something that is often present when it’s bitterly cold outside.

Was the “too blue” one of your steps in the process? Because certainly it’s not too blue here - but for sure I appreciate and like that there are hints of blue in the open water in between the chunks of ice.

No nits at all or suggestions. Beautiful winter image that makes one want to be sitting in front of a nice fire and cup of hot cocoa.

Lon