I´m Beth Young, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hello NPN community! Thank you so much for having me and I’m looking forward to all of your thoughtful questions! My name is Beth Young and I’m a nature photographer living in Northern California. I am very passionate about capturing uplifting images that hopefully have a therapeutic effect on the viewer of my images, that is truly what drives me as a photographer! My work is featured in hospitals, clinics, cancer centers, and healthcare facilities throughout the west coast, and I’m deeply interested in the research and evidence base that inform the healing arts that have a positive impact on patients.

I grew up in upstate New York and have always been enthusiastic about the arts, expressing myself through drawing and cartoon animation. That creativity eventually led to my current, full time career as an architect, holding an executive leadership position in a national firm. It’s always a struggle to balance full time work with my passion for photography that is my true creative outlet, but whenever possible, my husband and I love taking off-road trips in our 4WD truck camper which has everything we need on a very small scale, and allows us the opportunity to spend more time and become more familiar with the places we both love to photograph.

Living in Sacramento, California, I am fortunate to be close to beautiful and iconic landscape photography locations on the west coast, but I get just as excited photographing plants and flowers close to home. I’ve participated in group and solo exhibitions in galleries throughout California, and have recently delved into photography education, leading and assisting in the field photography workshops.