I´m Max Waugh, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hi everyone. I’m a long-time NPN member, and have been working as a full-time professional photographer for fourteen years. This follows a stint as a designer for a small marketing company here in the Pacific Northwest. My years as a designer coincided with my formative time behind the lens. Though I took a photo course toward the end of college that helped inspire my love of the art form, I was mostly self-taught following school. During my early years as a part-time shooter, I spent equal time shooting sports (including a stint as the lead athletics photographer at the University of Washington) and wildlife, but eventually my love for nature won out. My travels in my spare time quickly evolved from vacation/backpacking style trips to wildlife- and photo-centric adventures around the globe.

By the time I found myself in a position to tackle photography full time, I had a variety of trips and experiences under my belt. An immediate goal for me as a working professional was to guide and lead tours, and those years of solo travel had established a familiarity not only with several wildlife destinations, but also allowed me to establish relationships with overseas outfitters and companies. This helped me dive into international wildlife guiding straight-away, and to this day I still work with a number of partners who helped me plan those early trips.