I'm Alister Benn, ask me anything!

Hi NPN, I’m a full time landscape photographer and author living with my partner Ann Kristin on the far west coast of Scotland. I run workshops and write learning material focussed on the art of creativity. My passion lies in education and taking back landscape photography for what it’s good for - us and the environment.

For years I focussed on making technical and dramatic photographs of the lands ape, glorifying it and my own feelings of accomplishment. These days, I’m happier in a quiet wood, listening to the landscape and engaging with it in an expressive way.

AMA Rules

• Please only ask one question by replying to this topic a single time, using the yellow Reply button at the bottom. It’s also helpful to scroll to the bottom while :ok_hand: reading the topic to make sure nobody else has asked the same question first, before you ask… right? :ok_hand:
  • Please don’t ask more than one question, so everyone gets a chance :wink:
  • Please do not reply to anyone else’s post. The only purpose of replies here in this topic is to ask the author one question. If you’d like to discuss a related topic in more detail, create a new topic.

Posts not following these guidelines may be removed by moderators to keep the Q&A flowing smoothly. Thank you!

1 Like

Any advice for a late blooming goof off who thinks he can get by just wandering around and making images of whatever just catches his eye. I try and philosophize or whatever about what I do and what it’s all about but it all comes back to what seems to be my main attribute, I seem to have a good sense of what looks right and enjoy trying to make an image that does things justice. My girlfriend says the question is how much head and how much heart?

2 Likes