Learning flash for wildlife photography

I’ve been a wildlife photographer for many years but I never wanted to hassle with using a flash so never learned. I decided I should change that so I tried a few shots today at my bird feeder.

Do you think I got the right balance of flash to natural light? At this point I don’t know enough to self critique.

Canon 7d II, 100-400mm II, external speed light mounted on camera with Better Beamer, 400mm, 1/800, f7.1, ISO 640, flash EC -1

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

This does not look flashed at all on my iPad Air 2.
I think this is a good use of fill flash. No concerns about the techs. I have used fill flash on 50% of images shot in the rainy season (Jan 1 to Dec 31) here in the Pacific Northwest. Typically, I will use minus 3 to minus 1 depending on the light levels and BG. As with anything, the more you practice, the better you get at figuring out the correct exposure.

1 Like

I’m on an Air2 as well.

For my tastes the balance front to back is good, but I downloaded it and opened it with Photoshop’s RAW filter to fiddle with overall exposure. I’m not posting because of the uncertainties in using this machine, but by using the Exposure slider it “feels” about 1/3-stop over-exposed. I plugged into my Dell desktop monitor for another look and came away feeling the same way, but that one is not yet calibrated either.

You don’t say if you dialed any reduction into your flash, but I’m not acquainted with Canon these days and don’t know whether EC-1 is a flash model or a compensation. Most times I fill with 1-2 stops less light, i.e., dialing in a -1 or -2 into the flash depending on the tone of my subject. If that is indeed an indication you had reduced flash output by one stop, I’d try something on the order of -1.3 or even -1.6.

1 Like