Lichen-draped branch

I’ve been shooting this branch for a couple of years, with frustration. It needs the very calm air of early morning, but that’s also the only light for the BG, and it needs spring/summer foliage. The best angle puts me about 10 ft in the air, but I can get that angle from uphill, behind where I was when this was shot. But that puts me about 100 ft away and needs about 600mm. That’s doable, but the amount of intervening air can make the tiny lichen threads a little less sharp. It is also maddeningly 3D and I want the BG as OOF as possible. That means getting closer to the subject. So I have now tried the very sharp 100mm macro, and with the focus stacking of the R5, without having to touch the camera, I am finally pleased with the result. (I was very nervous it would fall off before I got what I wanted.)

Interested to know if this twisted branch is as interesting to anyone else as it is to me. If not, I’ll attribute it to my failure to present it adequately!

I’ve included a B/W but I like the subtle coloration of the lichen, which is too close to the BG for any color separation.

Specific Feedback Requested

All comments welcome!

Technical Details

Canon R5, Canon EF 100mm macro with EF-RF adapter, f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/50 sec, sturdy tripod, remote release. Stack of 5 processed in Zerene Stacker with no adjustments needed in LR. Some cloning on the BG, nothing done to the subject. Full frame as shot.

Hi Diane,

I think you’ve done an outstanding job isolating the branch and capturing amazing details in the lichen - amazing detail at full view. In fact really amazing detail and so great job with the stack.

I much prefer the color as the branch/lichen stand out quite nicely against the bg - even considering they have the same color similarity - but of course the lichen is much lighter in tone. For some unimportant reason, the b&w just doesn’t have the same presence.