Lobelia Tuba

Another hummingbird plant in the yard.
I am enjoying shooting these, I have never tried before until recently.
It is challenging since these are real plants and in fall weather, it is always breezy so I have to shoot high iso and not very small apertures…
This might be old hat to the Flora photographers here but it is new to me.
Background is a Smoke tree across the yard, a fortunate location as finding the BG for interesting plants is tough in the real world.
D610, F10, iso640, 1/125, 300mm (300 f2.8)

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
2 Likes

This is very nice, Dan. The smoke tree makes an awesome background and you have nice depth of field on the flower cluster with good detail.

I don’t know about other people, but I’ve been known to slip an artificial background behind flowers at times.

Dan, this is my favorite of your flora images so far. I like the BG, the DOF and the wonderful color of the flowers. I have no real nits, just some housecleaning that would put this over the top for me. There is some small color and luminance noise that just a mild dose of NR would take care of. There is a tiny insect on one of the back blossoms just at the left of the mid point, easy to clone away. There are some decay spots, but these are to be expected of any flora image in the Fall.

I apologize for editing a copy of your image. All I did was some mild image NR (topaz DeNoise) and a TK sharpen for web at 50%. Small steps, but they do make a difference. Compare them large with yours. In fact, I highly recommend Tony Kuyper’s Photoshop Actions. Takes a while to understand them, but they are a wonder!

Thanks Phil, I really appreciate it.
A new field for me, fun and I always am trying to get better…
I see the difference.