Love in the Mist

Greetings! This is my first post in this part of the forum. I am new to photography and brand new to my macro lens (1 month). This is one of my first images with my macro lens. I absolutely love this beautiful and alien-like flower. There was a strong breeze that night and I was shooting hand-held so focus was a challenge. I used a strong vignette in Lightroom. Other technical details: f2.8, 1/200, ISO 100. Maybe I should have used a higher f stop.

I would appreciate any feedback - I am very motivated to learn. Thank you!

3 Likes

Becky, first I would like to welcome you to NPN and the macro section of the site. What a nice shot to start off with in the area of macro. Great subject, and great composition. Yes, a higher number f-stop would have given you more depth of field (more of the flower in focus, if that was your desire). There are times when we want selective focus, just one tiny portion of the subject to be sharp, and in that case, f2.8 would be fine. You didn’t mention the type of camera, nor especially, the length of lens. If you have a 180 mm, or something like that, it can be hard to hand hold for close work like macro. Normal shooting most would consider 1/200 with a 180 mm okay, but with macro it can start to be a bit more difficult to hold it steady for a close shot like this one.
When you want everything you can in focus, you would use a higher number f-stop, which in turn you would need to either lower your shutter speed number down (in turn would definitely require a tripod) to hold the camera steady), or raise the ISO to a higher number, which in this case would be the best choice as you were only at 100, and most cameras today don’t introduce noise in your image until you get up around 2,000 or more. One could also use a bit of flash to help if the ISO would cause too much noise, or you don’t have or want to use a tripod.