Small Orchid

This little orchid is what I chose as a test subject for my new Sony f2.8, 90mm Macro lens.
I’ve never used a real macro lens before so this is going to take a little getting used to for me.
The pedals on this orchid are a little on the tired side but the plant I bought has some new buds on it.

Specific Feedback Requested

All feed back Welcome.
Is the leaf on the left too dominating?
Comp and Crop OK?

Technical Details

Sony A7R IV, 90mm Macro Lens, f22, 1/250s, ISO 200
Remote flash with soft box.
Camera Raw, PS

1 Like

Merv, you are fuelling my desire for that Sony more than ever. Can you please post something fuzzy/blurry so that I can overcome that feeling. Thanks.

Anyway, nice colours and angle of the flower and that darkish background stem looks just right ( :wink:). personally I’d black out the dark green background area on the left though (had to say that :innocent:). Cheers.

1 Like

Lovely subject, composition and lighting! The over-the-hill petal doesn’t bother me – it’s reality. (I’m a bit over the hill, myself.)

This (or the next blossom) could be one for some experimentation. The very interesting center area (whatever it should be called) is a bit lost with the petals behind it. Would be interesting to do a focus stack at maybe f/8 and compare a full stack with stopping before the petals.

2 Likes

Merv, that is a very nice shot for having never used a real macro lens before. I actually like it as presented, myself. The two green leaves seem to fill the bottom corners, but dark enough to not pull the eye away from the bloom. Nicely done.

1 Like