Low Tide

When I’m out scouting locations, I commonly grab the camera and take handheld snaps to get a rough idea of how a composition will look. I was prowling the Oregon Coast looking for a location to shoot a sunrise and snapped a shot of this view. I’m not very good at seeing/remembering black and white opportunities (would like to get better at it), but this looked like it had potential so I went back to the car to grab the tripod and take an image to play with.

There was an obvious contrail that I “adjusted,” but the rest of the sky had odd streaks and I’m not actually sure if any remain; I just left them.

Does the composition work for you? (I didn’t get the picture quite level, so the view is slightly tighter than I intended.) The small amount of ocean doesn’t bug me too much; I was more focused on the light play on the shore. Is that a concern? As always, any comments appreciated.

I realize there are some shadowed areas that might be opened a little. I elected to leave them here, both for the drama and the fact they contain a little more noise and lens flare than I wanted to expose. (I have a bracketed image I could blend in, but I’d really have to work on a couple of flares in that one.)

Nikon D7100

Nikon 12.0-24.0 mm f/4.0 at 12 mm (18mm equiv.)
1/125 sec at f/22 and ISO 100

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

John, I like the comp and the b&w treatment. There a nice main balance between the sun(star) and the dark rocks in the lrc. The glow of reflected light makes a fine leading line and the bit of ocean with its waves adds a good extra bit to the view. I think letting the foreground rocks go black works well, as it’s the presence of the rocks (not their detail) that add to the view.

1 Like

Really strong image. It has a great mood, very mysterious and almost mystical. Very well done.

1 Like

I like the scene here and looks like a really nicely done B&W.