Morning visitor

I don’t generally photograph birds. However, I saw this great horned owl walking across the open area just in front of my patio one morning. No plans to photograph it, but was interesting to see it walking out in the open. It climbed up on this rock and just sat there. I was watching it through my living room window, and decided to try out a new camera and lens. The lens’ longest reach is 200-mm on an APSC sensor, so 300-mm equivalent. As I started shooting, the sun started coming up providing the warm highlights to the background. To get the head turn, I hit the edge of the window frame gently. I wanted to see the face, but didn’t want to scare it away. That tricked only worked a couple of times. Owl soon lost interest in my tapping.

The image is at least a 50% crop of the original capture, and I don’t think the focus is quite sharp . The camera’s focus-peaking indicated strong focus on the eyes, but I was pressing the shutter release on the camera, not a timer or remote, and, even though the camera was on a tripod, there might have been movement. Or maybe the focus wasn’t as good as I’d thought. Or maybe shooting through the two panes of glass throws things off a bit. So I still have some learning to do when it comes to bird photography. Suggestions always appreciated.

Fujifim X-S10, 55-200 lens @ 200 mm, ISO 160, f/11, 0.3 sec

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Is this a composite?

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

Nice photo. It sure looks like a big owl. The ss looks pretty tight to me and and might be the reason the detail is not there. I like that nice soft lighting up the colorful leaves in the bg.

Looks quite good at this size – glass can really degrade an image, especially double-pane. I would be delighted to have seen this – wonderful you were able to get a very nice picture. The whole scene is great!