Osprey in Flight

This is a 2nd photo of an Osprey flying in my neighborhood (North Florida). I previously posted another. I had purchased a new camera and lens and went looking for wildlife, and I spotted this osprey. It was actually a cloudless sky when I took the photo. I am new to Lightroom and Photoshop and struggled to get the right balance of brightness to the bird vs. sky. Photoshop took most of the blueness of the sky out. I wasn’t thrilled with the white sky, so I imported the photo into Luminar 4 and replaced the sky. I also lightened the bird a bit.

Specific Feedback Requested

I would love to have had the bird higher in the frame, but this was the best I could do in tracking him. Is it acceptable to replace the sky the way I did? Should I crop it more (losing some of the wings) in order to see his face and eyes better?

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
Nikon D500
Nikon AF-S 300mm PF4
1/1600 at f/8
ISO 400
Processed in Lightroom, Photoshop and Luminar 4 as described in the description

@francissr15143

You have a good look at the osprey Scott. Too bad about not enough room for tail but you already know that. Head looks sharp and a really nice overhead fly by pose.
The blue in the sky looks off a bit to me but otherwise clouds and sky look good. i would lose the jet trail with a bit of cloning iin PS. And I would say there is some blue in Osprey also. You might try desating blue in LR and see how that looks.

And I wouldn’t think this is a photo for more cropping. If anything the osprey needs more room. It does sound like they are around your area and you might be able find nesting or feeding areas and get some nice behavior shots as well.

1 Like