Please Momma, Just one More Time? (+rework)

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

I was in Yellowstone National Park last month and was fortunate to observe this interaction between a Bison calf and his pregnant mom. The calf had been eating the grass like everyone else in the herd, and then I watched him go over to mom and seem to say, “just one more nursing momma?” and sticking out her tongue. Sure enough minutes later, Mom relented.

Specific Feedback

I have the full image of both mom and calf but I felt a tighter crop helped to emphasize the interaction. I’m just learning wildlife photography, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Technical Details

I captured using a higher ISO to ETTR in snow and used DxO PureRAW 3 for noise reduction. I’m on a trial run of the plug-in. So far, I have been happy with the plug-in.
ISO 1000
368 mm
F6.3
1/2000
Sony a7RV on a monopod/Sony 200-600 mm f/5.6-6.3 G lens

The second image was added for storytelling only, but any additional feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Hey Julia - sorry this kind of fell through the cracks. The first shot is a winner - that tongue! Tiny horns! Great mirrored positions in the two animals. The second one…it’s funny, but belongs in a blooper reel I think. :laughing: Without context of the other photo and your explanation, it just looks like a mistake so I prefer it as part of a series or larger narrative. The first one has such a great sense of depth with the flying snow between you and them.