Secret Longing

To continue the story, I left my fellow paddler to photograph the tree from Deep in the Heart and immediately saw this scene. I knew it was the one. Gently I inched around in the boat looking for both a good composition and a place I could basically run aground. Even in a backwater like this you can drift, but luckily I found a tangle of roots or something that I lodged the kayak on. It was too dark for me to tell at that point and so I waited for the light.

It was around 30 degrees F and I was freezing. I didn’t think we’d be in temps that low so I had no hat or gloves and clothing that wasn’t particularly warm. I basically put on everything I had with me, lol. After a while I started shivering and was irritated because I didn’t want ripples in the water. Then my teeth started chattering. Enough! The light was about what I wanted and so I started shooting, forcing myself to stop with the shivering and hold the camera steady. This is one of the images I like best.

Specific Feedback Requested

What works, what doesn’t work…the usual. The orange in the trees what part of what I was waiting for but does it compete too much? Should I tone it down? I played with a tighter crop both in the field and in Lr, but that opening on the left is so inviting to me as a kayaker that I left it. That might not work for non-kayakers though and so…

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
Lumix G9
LUMIX G VARIO 35-100mm F2.8 @ 39.0 mm (78.0 mm in 35mm)
f/6.3 | 1/30 sec. | ISO 400
Handheld in the kayak

Another that was extensively processed to preserve this mood of exploration, discovery and wonder. Managed the highlights in the trees in the bg and the overall exposure, clarity and texture where needed, dodging and burning to improve transition from dark to light in the fog, sharpening and nr, color channel work to brighten the foliage. Ps to remove distractions in the water.

@the.wire.smith
1 Like