Silence

Silence (raw file)

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

It was a gloomy day, overcast and snowing. We had a small break when the mountains were clear to grab a few images. This was a foto stack of 20 images. I adjusted the WB, straightened the horizon, and experimented with colour toning.

Specific Feedback

I would have preferred more sky above the mountains, but was limited by my wide angle lens (17-55). If I was more proficient in Ps (just a newbie), I guess I could have blended in more sky.

Technical Details

Nikon Z7
17 mm, ISO 64, 2 sec exposure, f11

Laura, what a magnificent location. I am just learning how to do photo stacking, so I can’t say much about that. I did download the image because the overall cyan tent bothered me. I took it into PS and straightened it. The final corp left minimal sky. Then, I used the patches of snow to reset the WB in LR. This is the result, which looks more like the RAW file and seems more realistic. Thanks for sharing this beautiful scene. I struggle with blue scenes like this and don’t think I have quite found a realistic rendition. I leave that to others.