South Dakota Badlands

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

I was excited to visit the Badlands a few years ago and took hundreds of photos, but none seem to “pop” the way other landscape photographs do. I like the picture but it seems to be missing something in my mind. I’m still new to landscapes.

Technical Details

Canon R6
Canon RF 15-35
1/50
f20
ISO 100
19mm

Hi Greg. Welcome back to NPN. I’m new here myself - so please take any comments with a grain of salt. I really like your bird photo as well by the way.

This is a very interesting scene - I think you should be able to make it pop. You definitely have plenty to work with. From this original composition, I might only wish you had a bit more of the close foreground - but let’s not worry about that.

Your composition is 50-50 - so I think you need to chose sky or Badlands. I would recommend badlands and crop out about half of the sky. That will leave a more moody sky behind, which should work really well.

Then, I think with some selective dodging and burning, you can emphasize the ridges and valleys in the rocks - with a focus on looking for ways to tie the composition together as well as support a clear center of focus.

I see a path through the composition, all those valleys seem to “pour” into a low point that wraps around the middle distance.

Look forward to seeing more of your work!
Bill

Thanks, Bill. I appreciate it. I’ll see what I can do.

I’d love to photograph the badlands someday; I’m jealous of your trip! You’ve captured a great view of the dramatic geology, and the way the canyons funnel the eye out to the distance and to the right is awesome.