Trillium afloat

Image 7
Lush spring growth

Image 8
Reflection of the new leaves on the trunk

Image 9
Dappled sun along the path

Project Description

Robin Hill is a small forest that with the exception of defined paths is left in its natural state. On my daily walks there with my dog who is on a squirrel quest I have found both small and large scenes that I wanted to share with others. It is my first attempt to capture these scenes using only my iPhone and only when on one of my morning walks.

Self Critique

I like this project because rather than being all caught up in the technical aspects of the camera I was simply capturing the scenes that made me slow and think that is beautiful. I am wondering if I have enough variety in this project.

Creative Direction

I am really looking for a style and trying to show the viewer if you stop and look around there is beauty in small scenes and large vistas.

Specific Feedback

Conceptul and technical

Intent of the project

Gallery on your website

Hi Peggy,

It looks like a beautiful forest.

As a first impression, I was captivated by all that green in your images. I like your compositions, and overall I think the series enhances the single images and give them context.

Since you took the images with an iPhone’s camera, I’m focusing on the content of the images rather than on quality aspects (i.e. shadows, tints, HDR execution and other stuff that phone cameras might be prone to). With that said, I can totally relate to that feeling you described, of being free from heavy equipment and just focus on collecting these scenes you saw.

I like that the first image gives a wider view, with the green foliage and the flowering bushes in the same frame. And your choice to go into more intimate scenes in images 2 and 3. Usually an opening image should be very strong, and I’m not sure #1 is strong “enough”, but I think as a group of images they work nicely together.