Spring Tree Blended

re-edited to incorporate some suggestions

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

I recently posted a “Pep Ventosa” style photo of a winter tree. I’ve been waiting for spring to find a blooming tree to try the same style on. Pep Ventosa shoots “in the round”, going around his subject taking photos as he goes. His style is intriguing to me. I’m still learning this style, and have much more to learn. This is 15 photos taken going around the tree just 1/2 way (there was a ditch preventing me from going all the way round it). I then blended the photos in photoshop using different opacities and blending styles.

Technical Details

15 photos. AV setting f.8 on all.

2 Likes

Very painterly looking. I’m glad you explained how you created it. Quite a process. I’d say this is a successful image. The green in the LR area seems a little intense and draws my attention. What about cropping some to put more emphasis on the tree and move it a little off center…perhaps some off the right side?

1 Like

Judi, I love how you are using the technique. The amount of work to blend them in post-production must be considerable. The soft, painterly look is unique and lovely. I wondered how it would look with the green grass toned down and how a crop that would move the tree more to the left would look. This is what I came up with. I like the grass; it adds to the composition when it is softer, like the rest of the image. I only want to make suggestions if I have tried them. Here is a screenshot of a hue/saturation layer with a black mask painted with the change in the value and shade of the green. I tried cropping just at the left and the bottom of the frame. I like the background trees on the right.

screen shot of layers