Sunrise, Skyline Ridge, Utah Badlands

I came across this image in an article several years ago and I planned several times to travel to the site, only to have the trips canceled. However, last April, arising at 4 AM and traveling 45 miles on paved road and another 6 on a rutted dirt side road, I arrived with plenty of time to set up and await sunrise. This is a stitch of 7 vertical captures, stitched together in PS. The light was perfect and I was well rewarded for my wait.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

As I stated above, this was an area I longed to photograph for years. Does anyone think there should be more or less foreground? Is the tonal range adequate?

Technical Details

Nikon D850 camera, Nikon 24-120 MM lens @ 58 mm. f 11, 1/5 sec, ISO 100.

1 Like

@Paul_Hetzel Wow. I really like this. I’m not a pro, but I think the tones look great. I like the range from the light sky and mountain top (snow?) to the dark tones in the foreground. I didn’t see anything I thought I would change about it, but maybe someone else can speak to your foreground question and I can learn as well.

I think a black and white background on a computer screen or a mobile device with colorful app icons would provide a nice contrast and be enjoyable but not distracting.

I want to add that I think it’s the tones and structure that drew me to the image. Well done.