Swans at sunrise

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Group of swans flying in the early morning in Friesland. You may notice that one of them has an object around its neck. I love the soft morning light and the formation, with all heads and at least an eye per bird visible. However, I am troubled by the lack of sharpness due to the low shutter speed and birds’ movement. Is it worth trying again at higher ISO and then hope the noise reduction routines in PS take care of the noise? Any other suggestions?

Technical Details

Nikon N750, Nikkor 80-400VR @ 400, f/8.0, 1/500 sec, ISO 1400.

Esme, I am really drawn to your picture. The soft colors and the position of the swan make for a nice composition. I am not an expert on ISO and shutter speeds, but I think it can be individual to the camera. How high can you push the ISO on your camera before the noise gets objectionable? That is an answer I have yet to determine on my camera. Topaz DeNoise has been helpful for me. I know that auto ISO will allow you to up the shutter speeds on moving objects. I have used that when photographing landscapes if there is a breeze. I used the shutter speed I think is needed and let the camera decide on the ISO. I hope that helps. Thanks for sharing this photo.

Hi Esme. Even though the camera is getting a bit older, that’s recent enough that modern noise reduction should be able to handle at least twice that iso. I used a Canon 7D Mark II from 2013 until just a few years ago and was able to push it to iso 4000 and still get decent results if the exposure was right to start with.

I really like the beautiful light in the sky behind the swans and the formation is quite nice. I also like the size of the group in the frame. The temptation is always there to zoom in on the subject, but I don’t find it to always be the best solution.