The #3

When this scene originally caught my eye I was not entirely sure that I liked it enough to trip the shutter. There was something there that intrigued me, but I could not put my finger on it as there were things that I liked and things that I did not. Even though I was not entirely sold I decided to shoot it and try to figure it out when I got home.

When I got home and opened the image on the desktop I started playing around with different crops. That is when I noticed what must have caught my eye on some subconscious level. Just to be sure I asked my daughter if she noticed the #3 in the image and she picked it out right away. So long story short is I must have noticed the three distinct bands of yellow, green and red and tied it together with the #3 shape in the leaves.

As always thanks for taking a moment to leave a thought.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

All C&C welcome

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

All C&C welcome

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)
NikonD800, Nikon 80-200 @125 mm, f16 @1/40 sec, ISO 800, CPL, cable release & tripod

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
2 Likes

Another great image, Ed. The colors are exaggerated but this is art not reality. The greenish tree trunks don’t bother me at all.