The Gunsite

Decided to keep it local today, nipped out for a quick session at the Coastal Park just down the road from where I live. The path brings you out to a nice view over Leasowe Bay, known as The Gunsite. Picked up this shot late afternoon with the rain clouds rolling in.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

I’m still fairly new to photography, so it’s great to hear your feedback. How’s my comp looking and how’s my processing doing? Any other comments?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

A7r3 / FE 70-200mm / Tripod / (no filters)
ISO100 100mm f/11 0.4sec Single Shot
Processed using ACR / PS

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

John, I think you have an artistic gift. You should continue your pursuit of photography. You may be a natural.

Igor, many thanks for the kind words - they are much appreciated

I’m a sucker for “stark” or minimalist compositions, so this one nails it for me. Outstanding layout, and I can’t think of a single change to the processing that would do anything but diminish it. Keep them coming! You have a fan here.

Looks technically great. The comp doesn’t grab me as strong as some, but that’s just personal preference and not a criticism. What are the towers?

Cheers Hank, I think you’ve made my day!

Its early days for me, photography is still very much in the experimental stage. This image was all about composition.

Tried to keep things real clean and simple here with emphasis placed on positioning of the three pylons. For me, I see this group of objects combining together, pulling the eye around the scene in a continuous triangular loop. The dark rain clouds above add some visual interest with their contrasting bright edges, helping the eyes to re-focus and slowing them from drifting upwards out of the scene.

Of course I could be imagining all of this :wink:

Hi John,