The Moment+Repost

I went out with a creative lens, a 90mm macro, and a 70-300mm. I’m not sure why I thought this was a good idea. :slight_smile: I was taking advantage of the longer focal lengths to shoot down the creek from a bridge and framing this up. I had just clicked the shutter when I heard the hiss and plop of falling snow, and I was pleased to see that I caught the drop - a happy accident. I don’t know that it really adds to the image, but it’s definitely the moment and it’s the story of what happens after heavy snow.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any. This is my first time really taking some time with winter images. I think I struggle in the forest, generally resorting to macro, and the blanket of snow seemed to help make the larger scenes more interesting.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
1/1250, f/8, 85mm, ISO 1250. 70-300mm lens on an adapter. Other than f/8 and 85mm, I clearly was not paying much attention to my settings. I was using exposure comp to “overexpose” some due to the snow which I’m sure impacted this some (auto ISO, and possibly aperture priority or manual - not sure which).

With this one I tried to eliminate some of the edges as suggested by @Kris_Smith and @Diane_Miller to focus on the falling snow and open water. I tried several ratios and unconstrained, but I felt like the square ended up working the best as far as including/excluding what I wanted. If you have any additional thoughts, feel free to share. I feel like it’s not quite “there”. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I love going into the woods when it’s like this - the snow on the branches is wonderful. The small slice you have here is inviting and I’d slice it even further, cropping to frame the water better and eliminate the tree on the right and the bits in the LLC. The falling branch is a nice touch and should be played up some as well.