Widow Skimmer

At least that’s what iNaturalist ID’d it as. The R5 is opening up some new photo opportunities, but as a newbie to this type of imagery any advice is appreciated.

Specific Feedback Requested: Any

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Canon R5; 100-500 at 500 mm; 1/800 at 7.1; ISO 800

1 Like

While I am not an expert at photographing, well anything that moves faster than a snail, Allen, IMHO, this is an outstanding shot! Also, since I live in the Nikon world, I am not familiar with the Canon R5, however, the detail you have gotten in the body and wings is amazing. Great job!

1 Like

A good looking dragonfly! Glad you’re enjoying your new rig. What, do you think, is the reason you feel new opportunities with the camera?

In terms of dragonfly advice, I have a couple of things. Many are creatures of habit and will return to the same perch over and over. Watch and wait. If the wing angle or something is bad one time, it might be good the next. Oh and they like sunny patches, too, and will often sit in one to warm their flying muscles on cool days. They are still when eating, well, except for those jaws! I’ve caught a couple with meals and had time to compose and recompose while they ate.

You’ve done a pretty good job with this one; isolating from the background is key, so well done. The detail is decent and most of the wings and body look to be in line with that lovely new sensor of yours. Only the eyes and tip of the tail are soft. You could probably up the shutter speed and ISO with no problem. I’ve seen how Diane pushes her R5 and still comes up with clean images.

1 Like